Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Greater St. Louis Area Council: Boy Scouts of America

Boy Scouts of America:  Greater St. Louis Area Council
| More



Kaskaskia > Posts > 2013 Adult Recognition Awards and Dinner

 Image Viewer

January 21
2013 Adult Recognition Awards and Dinner

John Mead, Ken Yamamoto (2).jpgWalt Tomczak, Daniel Rockwell (2).jpgScouter - Aaron Anderson, Ann Jeralds (2).jpgTim and Angie Rogers family (2).jpgScott Martin, Brian Brammeier (2).jpgKatie Russell, Ken Yamamoto (2).jpgSusan Nellis, Cathy Schmidt (2).jpgJean Schubert, Duane White (2).jpgDon Palmer, Duane White (2).jpgJohn Mead, Skip Mudlaff (2).jpg

Kaskaskia District, Greater St. Louis Area Council, Boy Scouts of America

Annual Adult Recognition Dinner and Awards


On 17 January 2013, the Kaskaskia District of the Greater St. Louis Area Council, Boy Scouts of American held its annual adult recognition dinner and award ceremony at the Grace United Methodist Church in Carbondale.  District Chair John Mead welcomed the adult leaders and boy scouts who attended the event. 

The Kaskaskia District' Venturing Crew 4 provided the opening ceremony and later in the event provided an overview of Venturing and some the activities the Crew was involved during 2012. 

The 9 Boy Scouts who became Eagle Scouts during 2012 were recognized for their achievement.  Those receiving their Eagle Scout rank included Daniel Sherwood of Troop 4, in Murphysboro, Alexander Sellars of Troop 58 in Goreville, Garrett Andrew Loyd of Troop 47 in Pinckneyville, Dustin Butler of Troop, Carobndale, Quinian Monk of Troop 133 in Carbondale, Joseph Jeralds of Troop 4 in Murphysboro, Douglas Halim of Troop 4 in Murphysboro, Bryan Herron of Troop 151 in Carbondale, and Jacob Loving of Troop 4 in Murphysboro.

Our first District Award of Merit went to Walt Tomcrak (Troop 66). Our second District Award of Merit went to Blaine Barthelomew of Carbondale.  Our 2011 Scouter of the Year award recipient was Aaron Anderson of Troop 4.  Congratulations to the Tim and Amy Rogers family Pack 112, chartered to the United Methodist Church of Murphysboro. They are our Scout Family of the Year.  Our 2012 Venturing Advisor of the Year was Susan Nellis of Crew 71, Campbell Hill.  Congratulations to our 2012 Scoutmaster of the Year, Gary Steele, Troop 4, chartered to the Grace United Methodist in Carbondale.  The 2012 Assistant Troop Leader of the Year is Scott Halim of Troop 4, chartered to the St. Andrew Parrish of Murphysboro.  This year's Cubmaster of the Year was Jean Schubert of Pack 47, chartered to the First Christian Church of Pinckneyville.  Don Palmer of Pack 88, chartered to American Legion 1096 of Campbell Hill, is our Webelos Den Leader of the Year.  Congratulations to our 2012 Tiger Leader of the Year, Beth Caraker of Pack 41 and Wolf/Bear Leader of the Year, Robert Monroe, both of Pack 41, chartered by First United Methodist Church in Vienna.  The winners of the Spark Plug Award were Scott Satterlee of Troop 4 in Murphysboro and Katie Russell of Pack 47 in Pinckneyville. And the winner of the Rookie of the Year Award was Brian Brammeier of Troop 47, chartered to the First Christian Church of Pinckneyville.  Skip Mudlaff was given special recognition for his long time service to Scouting and his most recent service to the Eagle Scout Committee. 

Ken Yamamoto of Murphysboro was recognized for receiving the Silver Beaver Award which is the highest award given at the Boy Scout Council level. 


There are no comments for this post.

Add Comment

Items on this list require content approval. Your submission will not appear in public views until approved by someone with proper rights. More information on content approval.

Name *


Body *

Antispam *

What is today's abbreviated value (DDD). Must be all uppercase (e.g. MON).